First layer of paint on the sheep picture

Feeling sheepish

At art class this week it was time to break out the oils and fill that blank canvas. I started with a few pencil lines to set out my composition (I was advised to keep these minimal!) and then just cracked on filling up all the white space. I worked with a big brush for the whole session on purpose so that I *couldn’t* get tied up in detailed areas. It was a great trick for keeping my eye on the overall picture.

So here’s what I achieved in my 2 hours art class. I’m pretty pleased with the progress – there is a good way to go but it definitely looks like a sheep (with which my pencil sketch from last week really helped) and I really like the colour scheme.

SO happy to be painting again!

First layer of paint on the sheep picture
First layer of paint on the sheep picture
Leave a Reply

