sheep sketch

Back to school

It’s been a rather long departure, but I won’t dwell on that! Things have been achieved and so now it’s time to get back to some arty-crafty creating!

I have signed up for an informal art class, which runs for two hours a week. It’s wonderful to have a defined time to dedicate to art! I arrived at my first lesson in a rush as I only found the class a few hours before it started. This meant I had to very quickly come up with what I wanted to work on. I decided on a nice photo of a sheep that I’ve always pondered on making into an oil painting. I wasn’t organised enough to take full supplies i.e. canvas, oil paints, white spirit with me, so I simply sat and sketched the little chap for about an hour and a half. Bliss!

sheep sketch
sheep sketch

I realise I’ve never tried to draw a sheep before, apart from in a child’s cloud-with-legs-and-head style. They are tricky! All that wool texture! It was good exercise for a rusty artist and good development work for the painting. Win-win.

The other 30mins was spent playing with watercolours for some palette ideas for the painting. Oils and canvas will be attending the next class with me! It’s good to be back!

Leave a Reply

