First colours on painting 1 of the floral trio.

Week 44: Floral painting begins!

Well, it’s been a while since I first introduced the floral trio and there’s been a few surprise projects in between. But this week I have FINALLY started painting the first of the trio. It’s been some time coming! However, I do feel pleased that I’ve taken the time to plan it all out and now I feel happy about getting started. There’s no point wasting pretty little canvases on paintings that don’t complement each other now is there!

So here’s what’s happened in my first session working on flower number one. I really need to find out what flower this is… the photo was taken in Belize so it’s a flower that grows over there but I have no idea what it is. I need to find out the name so I can stop calling it Flower One?! If anyone reading this is botanically-brained and could shed light on this then I would be most grateful :o)

First colours on painting 1 of the floral trio.
First colours on painting 1 of the floral trio.

I’ve started working to the table for this trio. Normally I work on an easel but these little canvases are so teeny they don’t seem worth propping up on the easel. And besides it’s quite nice to sit down and work for a change – just call me lazy ;o) I’ve just got the canvas propped up to make sure I keep the perspective in – it’s a bit adhoc but it seems to work well enough for now! And it is nice and comfy!

Leave a Reply

