Week 41: A weekend for inspiration

This Van Gogh Kandinsky (pre-poster)week was filled with one of my favourite things to do… go off for a weekend of inspiration visiting art galleries and exhibitions accompanied by lovely friends! Totally fabulous. This weekend I took a trip to Edinburgh to visit the Van Gogh to Kandinsky: Symbolist Landscape in Europe 1880-1910 exhibition in the Scottish National Gallery. It finishes next weekend so we had to squeeze a trip in so that we wouldn’t miss it! And it was definitely worth it. And if anyone is near Edinburgh before the 14th Oct then I would say definitely get along to it.

It was great timing for me, having just completed my landscape paintings for the exhibition it was brilliant to go and get some further landscape inspiration from the pros. It was such an interesting exhibition with many artists that I had not heard of before alongside artists that I had. There were obviously (given the exhibition title!) works by both Kandinsky and Van Gogh and I always knew I was guaranteed to love those as they are two of my favourite all time artists. But there were also many more artists exhibited with a whole range of different landscape styles. It was really fascinating to see them all presented together across a few rooms. A couple of favourite paintings that I had not seen before this trip were:

The Abyss, Majorca. By Joaquim Mir

Lake Keitel. By Akseli Gallen-Kallela

Beach at Heist. By Georges Lemmen

Whilst we were at the gallery, we also went to see Expanding Horizons | Giovanni Battista Lusieri and the Panoramic Landscape as an add-on ticket. This was also well worth a look. The detail Lusieri got into his watercolour paintings was i.n.c.r.e.d.i.b.l.e. It really blew my mind, I just couldn’t comprehend how he’d created those insanely detailed yet very large paintings!

So, it was a fabulous weekend filled with inspiration. Thank you to the Scottish National Gallery for putting on such a show for us!

2 thoughts on “Week 41: A weekend for inspiration

Leave a Reply

