banana skin sketch

Week 14: More train sketching…

I’m stealing minutes where I can at the moment, so I managed to get a bit more train sketching done over the Easter weekend. This time it was my banana skin that got my attention :o) There really are so many fascinating objects to draw on the trains ;o) Anyway, the banana skin looked pretty interesting with its different textures for the inside and outside of the skin so I thought I’d give it a whirl… 

Oh yes, and I remembered something I meant to talk about in my cardigan drawing post – when working on the cardigan drawing I was testing out a different style of sketching… a previous drawing teacher had once suggested trying to paint things from the inside out ie. don’t draw the outline of the object, but start in the middle and work outwards. By nature I am a outside-in type of sketcher… ie. I rough out the lines and then fill in the shading etc. But some people are the opposite and would naturally shade outwards until they hit one of the object boundaries, thus making the line edge. For me it feels completely unintuitive to work in this way, but I know that experimenting with a different style to what feels natural can help to develop creative skills so I thought I’d give it some practice! I was quite pleased with the results and I think that this method of sketching worked quite well with the complicated lines of the cardigan.

In contrast, this week I decided to work on this banana sketch in a much more line-focussed way. I wanted to experiment with different line strengths and to try and use them on the banana skin. I knew this sketch might easily just look like a mass of lines and for it not to be clear what was what part of the banana skin so I wanted to use lines to distinguish clearly the shapes of the object. I tried to make the smooth outside skin of the banana look different to the fluffy inside texture by using different shading techniques.

So, although I’ve mainly only been able to complete sketches for the last few of weeks, I’ve been trying to use it to develop styles which I hope should help with future paintings!

Leave a Reply

